What is gelatine?
Gelatine is a clear, tasteless protein that thickens and solidifies when dissolved in liquids and kept below a certain temperature. It is not suitable for vegetarians or vegans as the protein is sourced from the collagen in animal bones. Gelatine can be bought in two forms – leaf and powdered – and is commonly used to make jelly, panna cotta and marshmallow.
Where to buy gelatine
Check out this showstopping recipe for zesty lemon mousse with lemon and pink pepper shortbread. This dessert is easy to make and an impressive way to end your dinner party.
Learn how to get the perfect set for the ultimate melt-in-the-mouth Italian dessert.
This classic Italian dessert of cream gently set with gelatine is given a tropical twist by infusing the cream with coconut and topping with a zingy mango and passionfruit salsa.